Can’t-Wait Wednesday: Three Perfect Liars by Heidi Perks

can2527t2bwait2bwednesday

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Wishful Endings, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

52759803._sx318_sy475_

Title: Three Perfect Liars

Author: Heidi Perks

Publisher: Gallery Books

Publication Date: August 18, 2020

Goodreads
Indigo | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

From the author of Her One Mistake , hailed as “chilling, captivating” by New York Times bestselling author Megan Miranda, comes a riveting new suspense novel about three ambitious women whose lives are turned upside down in the aftermath of a horrifying fire, which destroys a successful advertising agency and threatens to expose a tangled web of lies.

Laura has returned to work at Morris and Wood after her maternity leave, only to discover that the woman she brought in to cover for her isn’t planning on going anywhere. Despite her close relationship with the agency’s powerful CEO, Harry Wood, she feels sidelined—and outmaneuvered—as she struggles to balance the twin demands of work and motherhood.

Mia was only supposed to be a temporary hire at Morris and Wood, but she’s managed to make herself indispensable to everyone. Everyone, that is, except Laura. If people only knew why she was so desperate to keep her job, they might not want her to stay.

Janie gave up everything to support her husband and the successful agency he runs. But she has her own dark secret to protect…and will go to any lengths to keep it safe.

Can’t-Wait Wednesday: My Summer of Love of Misfortune by Lindsay Wong

can2527t2bwait2bwednesday

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Wishful Endings, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

40651806

Title: My Summer of Love and Misfortune

Author: Lindsay Wong

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Publication Date: May 12, 2020

Goodreads
Indigo | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Iris Wang is having a bit of a rough start to her summer. In an attempt to snap her out of her funk, Iris’s parents send her away to visit family in Beijing, with the hopes that Iris will “reconnect with her culture” and “find herself.” Iris resents her parents’ high-handedness, but even she admits that this might be a good opportunity to hit the reset button.

Iris expects to eat a few dumplings, meet some of her family, and visit a tourist hotspot or two. What she doesn’t expect is to meet a handsome Mandarin-language tutor named Frank and to be swept up in the ridiculous, opulent world of Beijing’s wealthy elite, leading her to unexpected and extraordinary discoveries about her family, her future, and herself.

Can’t-Wait Wednesday: House of Earth and Blood by Sarah J. Maas

can2527t2bwait2bwednesday

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Wishful Endings, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

44778083-1

Title: House of Earth and Blood

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Publication Date: March 3, 2020

Goodreads
Chapters | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Bryce Quinlan had the perfect life—working hard all day and partying all night—until a demon murdered her closest friends, leaving her bereft, wounded, and alone. When the accused is behind bars but the crimes start up again, Bryce finds herself at the heart of the investigation. She’ll do whatever it takes to avenge their deaths.

Hunt Athalar is a notorious Fallen angel, now enslaved to the Archangels he once attempted to overthrow. His brutal skills and incredible strength have been set to one purpose—to assassinate his boss’s enemies, no questions asked. But with a demon wreaking havoc in the city, he’s offered an irresistible deal: help Bryce find the murderer, and his freedom will be within reach.

As Bryce and Hunt dig deep into Crescent City’s underbelly, they discover a dark power that threatens everything and everyone they hold dear, and they find, in each other, a blazing passion—one that could set them both free, if they’d only let it.

With unforgettable characters, sizzling romance, and page-turning suspense, this richly inventive new fantasy series by #1 New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas delves into the heartache of loss, the price of freedom—and the power of love.

Can’t-Wait Wednesday: The Brideship Wife by Leslie Howard

can2527t2bwait2bwednesday

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Wishful Endings, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

49090097._sy475_

Title: The Brideship WIfe

Author: Leslie Howard

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Publication Date: May 5, 2020

Goodreads
Chapters | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Inspired by the history of the British “brideships,” this captivating historical debut tells the story of one woman’s coming of age and search of independence—for readers of Suzanne Desrochers’s Bride of New France and Armando Lucas Correa’s The German Girl.

Tomorrow we would dock in Victoria on the northwest coast of North America, about as far away from my home as I could imagine. Like pebbles tossed upon the beach, we would scatter, trying to make our way as best as we could. Most of us would marry; some would not.

England, 1862. Charlotte is somewhat of a wallflower. Shy and bookish, she knows her duty is to marry, but with no dowry, she has little choice in the matter. She can’t continue to live off the generosity of her sister Harriet and her wealthy brother-in-law, Charles, whose political aspirations dictate that she make an advantageous match.

When Harriet hosts a grand party, Charlotte is charged with winning the affections of one of Charles’s colleagues, but before the night is over, her reputation—her one thing of value—is at risk. In the days that follow, rumours begin to swirl. Soon Charles’s standing in society is threatened and all that Charlotte has held dear is jeopardized, even Harriet, and Charlotte is forced to leave everything she has ever known in England and embark on a treacherous voyage to the New World.

From the rigid social circles of Victorian England to the lawless lands bursting with gold in British Columbia’s Cariboo, The Brideship Wife takes readers on a mesmerizing journey through a time of great change. Based on a forgotten chapter in history, this is a sparkling debut about the pricelessness of freedom and the courage it takes to follow your heart.

Can’t-Wait Wednesday: This Lie Will Kill You by Chelsea Pitcher

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Wishful Endings, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

40680043

Title: This Lie Will Kill You

Author: Chelsea Pitcher

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

Publication Date: December 11, 2018

Goodreads
Chapters | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Tell the truth. Or face the consequences.

Clue meets Riverdale in this page-turning thriller that exposes the lies five teens tell about a deadly night one year ago.

One year ago, there was a party.
At the party, someone died.
Five teens each played a part and up until now, no one has told the truth.

But tonight, the five survivors arrive at an isolated mansion in the hills, expecting to compete in a contest with a $50,000 grand prize. Of course…some things are too good to be true. They were each so desperate for the prize, they didn’t question the odd, rather exclusive invitation until it was too late.

Now, they realize they’ve been lured together by a person bent on revenge, a person who will stop at nothing to uncover what actually happened on that deadly night, one year ago.

Five arrived, but not all can leave. Will the truth set them free?
Or will their lies destroy them all?

This book sounds exactly like the kind of book I need in my life this winter. Perfect to read while being cozy on the couch with a fluffy blanket and some hot chocolate as the snow falls outside. Can’t wait to be able to read this one!