Can’t-Wait Wednesday: House of Earth and Blood by Sarah J. Maas

can2527t2bwait2bwednesday

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Wishful Endings, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

44778083-1

Title: House of Earth and Blood

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Publication Date: March 3, 2020

Goodreads
Chapters | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Bryce Quinlan had the perfect life—working hard all day and partying all night—until a demon murdered her closest friends, leaving her bereft, wounded, and alone. When the accused is behind bars but the crimes start up again, Bryce finds herself at the heart of the investigation. She’ll do whatever it takes to avenge their deaths.

Hunt Athalar is a notorious Fallen angel, now enslaved to the Archangels he once attempted to overthrow. His brutal skills and incredible strength have been set to one purpose—to assassinate his boss’s enemies, no questions asked. But with a demon wreaking havoc in the city, he’s offered an irresistible deal: help Bryce find the murderer, and his freedom will be within reach.

As Bryce and Hunt dig deep into Crescent City’s underbelly, they discover a dark power that threatens everything and everyone they hold dear, and they find, in each other, a blazing passion—one that could set them both free, if they’d only let it.

With unforgettable characters, sizzling romance, and page-turning suspense, this richly inventive new fantasy series by #1 New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas delves into the heartache of loss, the price of freedom—and the power of love.

Can’t-Wait Wednesday: The Brideship Wife by Leslie Howard

can2527t2bwait2bwednesday

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Wishful Endings, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

49090097._sy475_

Title: The Brideship WIfe

Author: Leslie Howard

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Publication Date: May 5, 2020

Goodreads
Chapters | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Inspired by the history of the British “brideships,” this captivating historical debut tells the story of one woman’s coming of age and search of independence—for readers of Suzanne Desrochers’s Bride of New France and Armando Lucas Correa’s The German Girl.

Tomorrow we would dock in Victoria on the northwest coast of North America, about as far away from my home as I could imagine. Like pebbles tossed upon the beach, we would scatter, trying to make our way as best as we could. Most of us would marry; some would not.

England, 1862. Charlotte is somewhat of a wallflower. Shy and bookish, she knows her duty is to marry, but with no dowry, she has little choice in the matter. She can’t continue to live off the generosity of her sister Harriet and her wealthy brother-in-law, Charles, whose political aspirations dictate that she make an advantageous match.

When Harriet hosts a grand party, Charlotte is charged with winning the affections of one of Charles’s colleagues, but before the night is over, her reputation—her one thing of value—is at risk. In the days that follow, rumours begin to swirl. Soon Charles’s standing in society is threatened and all that Charlotte has held dear is jeopardized, even Harriet, and Charlotte is forced to leave everything she has ever known in England and embark on a treacherous voyage to the New World.

From the rigid social circles of Victorian England to the lawless lands bursting with gold in British Columbia’s Cariboo, The Brideship Wife takes readers on a mesmerizing journey through a time of great change. Based on a forgotten chapter in history, this is a sparkling debut about the pricelessness of freedom and the courage it takes to follow your heart.

Can’t-Wait Wednesday: This Lie Will Kill You by Chelsea Pitcher

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Wishful Endings, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

40680043

Title: This Lie Will Kill You

Author: Chelsea Pitcher

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

Publication Date: December 11, 2018

Goodreads
Chapters | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Tell the truth. Or face the consequences.

Clue meets Riverdale in this page-turning thriller that exposes the lies five teens tell about a deadly night one year ago.

One year ago, there was a party.
At the party, someone died.
Five teens each played a part and up until now, no one has told the truth.

But tonight, the five survivors arrive at an isolated mansion in the hills, expecting to compete in a contest with a $50,000 grand prize. Of course…some things are too good to be true. They were each so desperate for the prize, they didn’t question the odd, rather exclusive invitation until it was too late.

Now, they realize they’ve been lured together by a person bent on revenge, a person who will stop at nothing to uncover what actually happened on that deadly night, one year ago.

Five arrived, but not all can leave. Will the truth set them free?
Or will their lies destroy them all?

This book sounds exactly like the kind of book I need in my life this winter. Perfect to read while being cozy on the couch with a fluffy blanket and some hot chocolate as the snow falls outside. Can’t wait to be able to read this one!

Can’t-Wait Wednesday: Somewhere Only We Know by Maurene Goo

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Wishful Endings, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

36992163

Title: Somewhere Only We Know

Author: Maurene Goo

Publisher: Farrar, Straus, and Giroux (BYR)

Publication Date: May 7, 2019

Goodreads
Chapters | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

10 00 p.m.: Lucky is the biggest K-pop star on the scene, and she’s just performed her hit song “Heartbeat” in Hong Kong to thousands of adoring fans. She’s about to debut on The Tonight Show in America, hopefully a breakout performance for her career. But right now? She’s in her fancy hotel, trying to fall asleep but dying for a hamburger.

11 00 p.m.: Jack is sneaking into a fancy hotel, on assignment for his tabloid job that he keeps secret from his parents. On his way out of the hotel, he runs into a girl wearing slippers, a girl who is single-mindedly determined to find a hamburger. She looks kind of familiar. She’s very cute. He’s maybe curious.

12:00 a.m.: Nothing will ever be the same.

With her trademark humor and voice, Maurene Goo delivers a sparkling story of taking a chance on love–and finding yourself along the way.

I just saw the words K-pop star and that was it. I was sold. This book will absolutely be pre-ordered and I will shell out the money for a hardcover without a second thought.

Reading the rest of the synopsis (aka trying my best not to let the mention of K-pop make me too impulsive), and I’m still sold. May needs to hurry on up and arrive because I need this book asap.

Can’t-Wait Wednesday: Broken Things by Lauren Oliver

can2527t2bwait2bwednesday

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Wishful Endings, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

37859646

Title: Broken Things

Author: Lauren Oliver

Publisher: HarperCollins

Publication Date: October 2, 2018

Goodreads
Chapters | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

It’s been five years since Summer Marks was brutally murdered in the woods.

Everyone thinks Mia and Brynn killed their best friend. That driven by their obsession with a novel called The Way into Lovelorn the three girls had imagined themselves into the magical world where their fantasies became twisted, even deadly.

The only thing is: they didn’t do it.

On the anniversary of Summer’s death, a seemingly insignificant discovery resurrects the mystery and pulls Mia and Brynn back together once again. But as the lines begin to blur between past and present and fiction and reality, the girls must confront what really happened in the woods all those years ago—no matter how monstrous.

Ok first of all, this cover is absolutely gorgeous! All of those hairstyles are ultimate hair goals. And the colours! I would totally pour out the money to have a hardcover of this sitting on my bookshelf.

The synopsis sounds so intriguing. I can’t wait to read this and explore the mystery surrounding Summer’s death and how everything went down since Mia and Brynn weren’t the ones to kill her.

Are you excited to read Broken Things as well? Have you been lucky enough to read an advanced copy? Let me know down below and link me to your CWW posts. I’d love to see them.